Oklahoma Activist Gets the Hammer

Kaye Beach

June 3, 2011

As reported first by the Red Dirt Reporter, Andrew Griffin, The Sooner Tea Party’s HQ was burglarized last weekend.

Sooner Tea Party offices ransacked, records stolen

http://www.reddirtreport.com/Story.aspx/18661

Here is the Red Dirt Report follow up;

Rumored “threats” against Gerhart, Sooner Tea Party may be linked to burglary

OKLAHOMA CITY – Several days after discovering the headquarters of the Sooner Tea Party was burglarized over the Memorial Day weekend, organization leader Al Gerhart told Red Dirt Report late Thursday that he suspects it to be politically motivated.

And from NewsOK.com

Sooner Tea Party headquarters burglarized

. . . the burglars took a lot of Sooner Tea Party records, but passed over expensive tools and equipment in the west Oklahoma City carpentry shop where he kept the records. An air-conditioner and a laptop computer Gerhart used for his business were the most expensive items Gerhart mentioned as being taken.

Gerhart said he found his 2009 and 2010 tax records stacked by the door, but the burglars apparently forgot to load them

Read more

It isn’t only Gerhart who suspects that this is politically motivated.  I would venture so far as to say that it is obviously politically motivated and that is something that should concern every citizen of this state.

As I was informed recently by one irate legislator who had no qualms about venting fury at Al Gerhart by proxy-We all look the same to them

On May 19, 2011, I wrote,

Rep. Don Armes, upset over calls to his office made by the Sooner Tea Party’s Al Gerhart unleashed his fury on the two women in the House Lobby in front of a large number of astonished onlookers consisting of Capitol staff, lobbyists and visitors.  The tirade lasted for several minutes and despite protests from the pair of signature gatherers that they have no control over the actions of other activists, Armes continued with his finger in the face tirade against Gerhart saying “You all look the same to me!”

The insult to Oklahoma voters committed by Rep.  Armes yesterday is by no means the only contentious event that Oklahoma taxpayers have been treated to this session and . . . it certainly won’t be the last.

So what we are seeing, as noted in Rule #6 of AxXiom’s Ten Rules for Activists to Live By, the highest nail gets the hammer. 

Without a shadow of a doubt, that nail is Al Gerhart. 

He has made it a mission to get under the skin of legislators.  I encountered more than one irritated lawmaker when I was trying to collect signatures for the discharge petition at the end of session.  I asked one if Gerhart had done anything illegal. Had he lied or slandered them?  If so, there are legal remedies for that otherwise they are just being aggravated and this, I think, must rather go with the territory.

We should thank Mr. Gerhart for one thing, that by comparison, he makes the rest of us seem like very short nails.

There are activists and advocates for every issue under the sun.  I am personally most familiar with advocates for limited, constitutional government.  Under that heading we have activists that advocate for legal adherence to all ten of the Ten Amendments to the Bill of Rights. Most commonly this includes (but is not limited to) the First, Second, Fourth and Tenth Amendments, but also advocates for specific issues of peace, privacy, parental rights, freedom of information and transparency, free enterprise, sovereignty, property rights and more.

What do you really care about?  Is there any issue that you feel strongly enough about to;

  • Make a phone call or write an email?
  • Make a personal visit to a legislator?
  • Join a political interest group?
  • Hold a meeting?

Is there any issue that you feel is important enough to create or circulate a petition for?  How about leafleting or participating in a non violent demonstration or rally? 

If you can’t think of any issue that you feel passionate enough about that you would willing to do at least one of those things for, then stop reading here.

Comments on Facebook don’t count.

I am talking about political activism also known as civic duty. 

Whatever political circles you move in, left or right or anywhere in between, whatever your pet issue is, you are going to choose the type of activity that suits your sensibilities.  I will be honest.  My preferred method of advocacy is doing research to gather the facts that support my position and then using persuasion to get others to see it my way.  I don’t like pressure tactics.  I don’t like them used on me and I don’t like to use them on others.  It’s not my way.  Having said that, I really believe with all of my heart that our government has no legal or moral right to surveil, track, or monitor me or anyone else without probable cause.  I think that in our government doing so we are harmed legally and spiritually and furthermore I truly believe that if such practices are permitted it will be the end of everything that is beautiful about living in this country.  I believe than doing anything less than what I am capable of to stop this I bear responsibility for leaving an ugly and un-free America to my child and every other child that is born or will be in this country.  I admit, in this, I am zealous.

I am zealous enough that when research and persuasion has failed me I have resorted to the next level of activism including organizing meetings, mass calls and emails, demonstrations, petitions and the like.  I also reserve my right to participate in non-violent civil disobedience and would accept the responsibility for doing so.

What are you willing to do to protect your natural and legal rights?

Next question.

Could any of the activities you may envision possibly annoy, aggravate or confound any of your legislators? 

If so, there is not a shred of difference between you and me and Al Gerhart for that matter.

The highest nail….right now that nail is Gerhart.  He’s getting the hammer.

You all look the same to them.

Who’s next?

3 responses to “Oklahoma Activist Gets the Hammer

  1. Kay,
    Thank you for all you do. I did have your phone #. I would like to
    share with you some things.

    Ed Jantzen

  2. Thanks and you helped motivate me to get involved for the first time this last session. I know I aggravated Rep. Martin bet you did also…

  3. Hujonwi,
    Cha Ching! “you helped motivate me to get involved for the first time this last session.” For me, this is pay day!
    Thank you!
    Kaye

Leave a Reply

