Angry Tax Payers in Florida speak out about Real ID in their state

Angry taxpayer

Hernando Today

Published: September 15, 2010

(from Mr Sleesman about Florida’s implementation of the REAL ID ACT)

I always believed Hernando County would make it easy for its citizens to get things done. That is not the case!

I took my picture I.D. card to be updated at the Forest Oaks Department of Motor Vehicles. I cannot drive and never have due to disabilities, and I am confined to a wheelchair now.

They refused to update my photo I.D. card, even though I still look the same and all information on it is valid. I presented my useless voter’s card, my original Social Security card and other proof of address of where we have lived for the past 23 years. They insisted that I present my birth certificate, which will be difficult for me to obtain. I can’t vote unless my I.D. card is updated. It is extremely difficult for me to get around since I cannot stand or walk.

Read More

_____

Juanita B. Sikes, CFC Hernando County Tax Collector responds;

Law was designed to protect Floridians

Hernando Today

Published: September 23, 2010

Re: Angry taxpayer letter to the editor.

In reply to Mr. Sleesman’s letter: ( From Juanita B. Sikes, CFC Hernando County Tax Collector)

The Florida Legislature enacted the Federal Real I.D. Act last year to take effect Jan. 1, 2010. The Legislature enacted this law in order to protect the citizens of Florida, and many other states are doing the same.

This is the reason you have to show the required documents, such as certified birth certificate, Social Security card, address proof, to the driver license offices in order to renew, get a new license or I.D. card, change an address, change a name, etc. These facts have been advertised statewide numerous times; and several articles have been in local newspapers, on television and in radio announcements.

Read More

The response from Ms. Sikes earns the attention of another angry taxpayer;

To serve and protect: Or, enslave and oppress

Hernando Today

Published: September 24, 2010

I read Juanita B. Sikes’ response to Mr. Sleesman’s letter. In it, she ascertains that the Legislature enacted this law in order to protect the citizens of Florida and that many other states are doing the same.

Problem is, the U.S. Senate never discussed or voted on the Real I.D. Act; and no Senate committee hearings were conducted on the Real I.D. Act prior to its passage. This procedure was undemocratic and avoided a substantive debate on a far-reaching piece of legislation.

Read More

2 responses to “Angry Tax Payers in Florida speak out about Real ID in their state

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Angry Tax Payers in Florida speak out about Real ID in their state | AxXiom for Liberty -- Topsy.com

  2. I like your post but I want my federal tax id number and I have so many confusion about my identification number.

Leave a Reply

